Compare Strategies

  • Ad Exchange: An ad exchange is a sales channel between publishers and ad networks that can also provide aggregated inventory to advertisers. They provide a technology platform that facilitates automated auction based pricing and buying in real-time.
  • Ad Marketplace: An ad marketplace is where Ad Networks and Exchanges combine with advertisers and publishers of all sizes creating an Exchange for all ads.
  • Ad Network: Ad networks provide an outsourced sales capability for publishers and a means to aggregate inventory and audiences from numerous sources in a single buying opportunity for media buyers.
  • Ad Platform: A mobile advertising platform is a third-party network that allows advertisers to publish text, graphic or animated advertisements on mobile websites and applications.
  • Adserving: An ad server is a web server dedicated to the delivery of advertisement. This specialization enables the tracking and management of advertising related metrics.
  • Analytics: Analytics is the discovery and communication of meaningful patterns in data. Analytics are helpful to increase application value and customer satisfaction.
  • Android: Android is an open source mobile operating system developed by Google.
  • APIs: Application Programming Interface (API) is a protocol intended to be used as an interface by software components to communicate with each other.
  • App: Application software is all the software on an electronic device that causes a computer to perform useful tasks beyond the running of the device itself.
  • App Search: A search engine that helps users find mobile apps.
  • App Store Analytics: App store analytics allow you to track and analyze your app sales.
  • App Store Optimization: App store optimization (ASO) is the process of improving the visibility of a mobile app in an app store.
  • Banner: A banner ad is a rectangular image featured on a website or application which acts as a portal to the advertiser’s site once clicked on. Banner ads come in different shapes and sizes and are often interactive.
  • Behavorial Tracking: Behavioral Tracking uses previous online user activity (e.g., pages visited, content viewed, searches, clicks and purchases) to generate a segment, which is used to match advertising creative to users (sometimes also called Behavioral Profiling, Interest-based Advertising, or online behavioral advertising).
  • BlackBerry: BlackBerry OS is a proprietary mobile operating system designed specifically for Research In Motion's (RIM) BlackBerry devices.
  • CPA: CPA (Cost-per-Action) is cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. "Actions" include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.
  • CPC: CPC (Cost-per-Click) is the cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received.
  • CPE: CPE (Cost-per-Engagement) model means advertising impressions are free, advertiser pays only when a user engages within the ad unit.
  • CPI: CPI (Cost-per-Impression) refers to the cost of internet marketing or email advertising campaigns where advertisers pay for every time an ad is displayed.
  • CPL: CPL (Cost-per-Lead) is an online advertising pricing model, where the advertiser pays for an explicit sign-up from a consumer interested in the advertiser offer.
  • CPM: CPM (Cost-per-Thousand) is a media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 impressions has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).
  • CPV: CPV (Cost-per-Visitor) is when advertisers pay for the delivery of a Targeted Visitor to the advertisers website/app.
  • Crowdsourcing: Crowdsourcing is the practice of obtaining needed services, ideas, or content by soliciting contributions from a large group of people, and especially from an online community, rather than from traditional employees or suppliers, including start-up fundraising.
  • Custom: Allows for customized ads for their API.
  • Custom App Platform: A platform that offers cross platform mobile deployment services.
  • Customer Relationships: Customer relationships platforms help mobile apps manage relationships with their customers by providing them with behavioral insights and tools to facilitate interactions.
  • Customer Support: Customer support platforms enable mobile apps to collect customer feedback, answer questions and resolve issues, with the goal of driving higher customer satisfaction.
  • Data Analytics: Data analytics is the discovery and communication of meaningful patterns in data. Analytics are helpful to increase application value and customer satisfaction.
  • Direct: Direct marketing is a channel-agnostic form of advertising that allows businesses and nonprofit organizations to communicate straight to the customer.
  • Distribution Platform: Digital distribution platforms provide mobile software to mobile devices.
  • DSP: A demand side platform (DSP), also called buy side optimizer and buy side platform, is a technology platform that provides centralized and aggregated media buying from multiple sources including ad exchanges, ad networks and sell side platforms, often leveraging real time bidding capabilities of these sources.
  • Enagement & Retention: Companies that offer strategy services and in-app feedback tools, enabling developers to easily engage customers for positive ratings, feedback and customer research.
  • Exchange: Ad exchanges are technology platforms that facilitate the bidded buying and selling of online media advertising inventory from multiple ad networks.
  • Flash Lite: Adobe flash lite is a lightweight version of Adobe Flash Player intended for mobile devices.
  • Funding: Crowdfunding service that connects developers to buyers interested in buying wholesale copies of their apps.
  • Games: A company, tool or service that specializes in games.
  • Geolocation Targeting: Geolocation targeting is the displaying (or preventing the display of) content based on automated or assumed knowledge of an end user’s position in the real world.
  • HTML5: HTML Version 5 is the latest generation of HTML from the Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group (WHATWG). HTML5 was designed to provide a comprehensive application development platform for web pages that eliminates the need to install third-party browser plug-ins such as Java and Flash.
  • In-App Purchasing: In-app purchases are purchases made from within a mobile application.
  • In-line: In-line text ads are text links that appear within the text of your content.
  • Interstitial Display: Interstitial display is an ad that appears between two content pages. Also known as transition ads, intermercial ads and splash pages.
  • iOS: iOS is a mobile operating system developed and distributed by Apple Inc. Apple does not license iOS for installation on non-Apple hardware.
  • JavaME: Java Platform, Micro Edition (Java ME) provides a robust, flexible environment for applications running on mobile and other embedded devices: mobile phones, personal digital assistants (PDAs), TV set-top boxes, and printers.
  • Location Services: A location-based service (LBS) is a mobile data service related to an end user’s immediate location.
  • Marketing: Marketing specialists help improve an apps competitiveness and market share through marketing strategies.
  • Mediation: An ad mediation platform coordinates with ad networks to help maximize your fill rate and increase your monetization.
  • Mobile Web: The Mobile Web refers to access to the world wide web, i.e. the use of browser-based Internet services, from a handheld mobile device, such as a smartphone, a feature phone or a tablet computer, connected to a mobile network or other wireless network.
  • Monetization Platform: Monetization platforms provide developers with a range of products and services to help add commerce and monetize their apps.
  • Open Source: Open Source refers to a program in which the source code is available to the general public for use and/or modification from its original design free of charge, i.e., open.
  • Personalization: Personalization technology enables the dynamic insertion, customization or suggestion of content that is relevant to the individual user, based on the user’s implicit behaviour and preferences.
  • Real Time Bidding: Real Time Bidding (RTB) indicates a real-time system for either bidding on or buying ad inventory.
  • Rich Media: Rich media are advertisements with which users can interact (as opposed to solely animation) in a web page format. These advertisements can be used either singularly or in combination with various technologies, including but not limited to sound, video, or Flash, and with programming languages such as Java, Javascript, and DHTML.
  • RTB: The RTB acronym (real-time bidding) indicates a real-time system for either bidding on or buying ad inventory.
  • Samsung Bada: Bada is an operating system for mobile devices by Samsung.
  • SDKs: Software Development Kits (SDKs) are typically a set of software development tools that allows for the creation of applications for a certain software package,software framework, hardware platform, computer system, video game console, operating system, or similar development platform.
  • Search: Search targeting helps advertisers target users when they look for places, businesses, housing, entertainment, etc. in specific geographies using a search engine.
  • SEM: SEM (Search engine marketing) is a form of internet marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in the search engine result pages.
  • Social Ad Platform: Social ad platforms measure, engage and advertise across social media to increase brand exposure.
  • Static: Static ads remain on a webpage or app for a specified period of time or are embedded ads.
  • Symbian: Symbian is a mobile operating system and computing platform designed for smartphones and currently maintained by Accenture.
  • Targeting: Companies focusing on targeting strategies analyze traffic to a site or app and recommend targeted messaging.
  • Text: Text advertisements is the delivery of an ad through just text.
  • Video: A video ad is an advertisement that contains video.
  • Virtual Currency/Rewards: Virtual currency/rewards is electronic money or rewards that act as alternative currency.
  • Virtual Reward Platform: Virtual reward platforms allow apps to display advertisements which reward virtual currency for completing an action, including opt-in.
  • WebOS: WebOS is a mobile operating system based on a Linux kernel, initially developed by Palm, which was later acquired by Hewlett-Packard and then LG Electronics.
  • Windows Phone: Windows Phone is a series of proprietary mobile operating systems developed by Microsoft, and is the successor to its Windows Mobile platform.
  • What is this tool? This is a comparison tool that allows developers to compare services that will help them monetize their apps and increase revenue.
  • What is a "monetization" strategy? Monetization strategies bring direct revenue to an app through the sale of ads and funding opportunities.
  • What is a "optimization" strategy? Optimization strategies allow apps to increase their revenue and business development through data analytics. By optimizing the apps performance and its engagement, developers can generate more revenue through their app(s).
  • Where did the information come from? The Alliance accumulated data through online research and company input. The Alliance makes no representation of the accuracy of the data. Companies are allowed to update and add information through the website.
  • How are the results generated? The Alliance input the acquired data into the tool which is filtered based upon the criteria you select.
  • What companies are included in the results? The results include both member and nonmember companies. Member companies are featured with more information.
  • Why do some results have a different design? The comparison tool includes both member and nonmember companies. The results with logos, icons, color, etc. are member companies. The results in plain text are nonmember companies.
  • How do I become a member? If you are interested in joining the Alliance, please email membership@appalliance.org for more information.
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